There are many reasons why people in Alabama drink alcohol and as long as they are over the age of 21, it is perfectly legal to drink it. However, as people know, alcohol can cause people to become intoxicated if they drink too much and that can lead to people making poor decisions. These decisions can cause embarrassment and can also cause people to be charged with crimes. If people decide to drive after drinking too much, they could be charged with a DUI.
People who are charged with a DUI could face serious consequences if they are convicted. Many people who are charged with their first DUI could be put in jail for up to one year. They also could be fined between $600 and $2,100 in addition to the jail time. They also will have their driver’s license suspended for 90 days. However, if people have a BAC of .15 or above, even if it is their first time offense, in addition to having their license suspended for 90 days, they could be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their vehicles for up to a year.
These are pretty significant penalties even for a first-time offense, but people will only need to go through these penalties if they are convicted of a DUI. When people are charged with a DUI, it does not mean that they will automatically be convicted. There could be defenses to the charges, which usually begin with determining whether the police had a valid reason to pull the driver over in the first place. However, even if the stop was legal there are a number of other defenses that could be available depending on the circumstances.
Many people are charged with a DUI each year in Alabama. These are serious charges that can have a major effect on people’s lives, but this is only if the drivers are convicted. Everyone is innocent until proven guilty and there could be defenses available to them. People have rights and those cannot be violated. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and could be a useful resource.